Newbie needing second opinion on possible gig.
Thread poster: Guilherme Piper
Guilherme Piper
Guilherme Piper
Brazil
Local time: 21:48
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Sep 17, 2021

Hello folks, I'm a beginner in the translation business and I have a big issue that arose right now..

So, long story short, I took a job on translating a book, full disclosure, it wasnt from here, things seemed fine but here's what ticks me off:

They didnt offer me a contract. No negotiations, no legal bindings, no nothing. Alarm bells are going off in my head, but I'm an utter beginner in this business so I have no clue of what's considered acceptable practices.
... See more
Hello folks, I'm a beginner in the translation business and I have a big issue that arose right now..

So, long story short, I took a job on translating a book, full disclosure, it wasnt from here, things seemed fine but here's what ticks me off:

They didnt offer me a contract. No negotiations, no legal bindings, no nothing. Alarm bells are going off in my head, but I'm an utter beginner in this business so I have no clue of what's considered acceptable practices.

Can I get someone's opinion on this
Collapse

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:48
Member (2008)
Italian to English
What to do Sep 17, 2021

Send them a polite letter setting out your terms, including (by way of example):
- a series of delivery dates and the amount they need to pay you on each date. Do not ask for royalties because you'll never see them.
- the condition that your translation cannot be sold on to a third party without your written consent.
- that your name, as the translator, be credited in the publication.
- that you will receive 5 free copies of the finished publication.

Ask t
... See more
Send them a polite letter setting out your terms, including (by way of example):
- a series of delivery dates and the amount they need to pay you on each date. Do not ask for royalties because you'll never see them.