Thread poster: maischa
maischa
maischa
United Kingdom
Local time: 19:14
English to German
+ ...
May 31, 2004

I am just starting out in translation. To be kept on file at a translation agency, I need to tell them my minimum charge per word (British currency) and my daily average output. I have no idea. Unfortunately,we did not learn these things at university.
How much do I charge per 1000 words?
I would be grateful for some advice.

Juan Jacob
Juan Jacob  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 12:14
French to Spanish
+ ...
Very strange, indeed. May 31, 2004

1. You've started a translation and you didn't set an arrangement with your client? Very unusual.

2. You've started a translation and you don't know how much you'll charge? More unusual.

My suggestion is: stop it all, you'll get in very big trouble.

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 20:14
English to German
+ ...
Misunderstanding, May 31, 2004

Juan,
Maischa wrote:
I am just starting out in translation.

Ralf

Lesley Clarke
Lesley Clarke  Identity Verified
Mexico
Spanish to English
Daily average output May 31, 2004

Personally I started out with a daily average output of 2200 words a day. Output depends very much on the difficulty of the text and the formatting, but I think if you give this amount, you can't go far wrong, you might sometimes have to work harder to produce this amount, and sometimes you will find it a cinch, but all in all you should be free from the risk of not handing your work in on time.

Being in Mexico, I cannot however advise you rates.

Juan Jacob
Juan Jacob  Identity Verified
Mexico
French to Spanish
+ ...
Upss... May 31, 2004

Yeap, IN translation. Please, apologize my misunderstanding.
I withdraw my comments.
But... haven't you a clue how much to charge?
Well, let's hear the collegues.
Luck to you.

Williamson
Williamson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Flemish to English
+ ...
Rates are personal May 31, 2004