Best gross translation rate per source word/character?
Thread poster: HenrietteT
HenrietteT
HenrietteT
United States
Local time: 12:43
Member (2021)
English to Danish
+ ...
Oct 4, 2021

I am new to this field and trying to figure it all out.. One company has this on their webpage: 'Best gross translation rate per source word/character (required). Competitive applications get maximum projects'.

Their rating then begins from $0.005 - above $0.8. Would you think they are asking about price per word or price per character? There's a big difference....

Thank you all for any help or input.

Kevin Fulton
Kevin Fulton  Identity Verified
United States
German to English
Best rate = lowest price Oct 4, 2021

I'm not going to give you any specific advice regarding rates in your language combination; however, "best rate" to an outsourcer means "lowest rate" to a translator. I would imagine that English Danish would command a premium compared to other more common combinations, but I may be mistaken.

Beatriz Ramírez de Haro
Adieu
Eric Azevedo
Stepan Konev
Barbara Carrara
Philip Lees
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida

Maxi Schwarz
Maxi Schwarz  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:43
German to English
+ ...
gross Oct 5, 2021

I think that part goes under the (mistaken) assumption that we have a rate and from that they'll get a discount created from the algorithm by a certain software company that decided to tell clients our policies. I quote per project, using a rate scale as the basis for deriving the fee.

Barbara Carrara
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida

Stepan Konev
Stepan Konev  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 19:43
English to Russian
I think gross means inclusive Oct 5, 2021