Anyone experience with LibreOffice, the new free DTP programme?
Téma indítója: Lotte Bulckens
Lotte Bulckens
Lotte Bulckens  Identity Verified
Local time: 01:49
Tag (2007 óta)
angol - holland
+ ...
Jan 27, 2012

Hi everybody,

I was wondering if there is anyone who uses LibreOffice, the new free DTP programme?
Any comments to share your experience with me?
Is it easy to learn for someone who has no idea of DTP?

Thanks!
Lotte

Tony M
Tony M
Franciaország
ProZ.com-tag
francia - angol
+ ...
A WEBOLDALAT LOKALIZÁLÓ FORDÍTÓ
Correction Jan 27, 2012

I don't have specific experience, so can't help you in that respect.

However, I think you'll find LibreOffice is a suite of office applications, like OpenOffice or MS Office; as such, it will include wordprocessing facilities, among others, but I suspect its DTP facilities (like MS Publisher?) might be a bit limited.

Depends what you want it for, as you say you are a complete beginner? However, you might need to consider the issue of file compatibility with other applic
... See more
I don't have specific experience, so can't help you in that respect.

However, I think you'll find LibreOffice is a suite of office applications, like OpenOffice or MS Office; as such, it will include wordprocessing facilities, among others, but I suspect its DTP facilities (like MS Publisher?) might be a bit limited.

Depends what you want it for, as you say you are a complete beginner? However, you might need to consider the issue of file compatibility with other applications, if you need to be able to exchange files with customers, for example.

I shall be very interested to see what others have to say about this, as it might well be helpful for me too! (I was brought up on (then] Aldus PageMaker!)