Artemis Darcy
Artemis Darcy
United Kingdom
Local time: 09:31
French to English
+ ...
Feb 19, 2021

Hi,

I'm new to translation and have a few questions about term bases and translation memory. I'm learning Trados on the free trial, doing non commercial projects to practice. I want to upload a term base and translation memory file as if I were working on a real project. My (very green and beginner like) questions are:

1) Is it possible to find free ready made translation memories online? If not, can I download some apps via the Trados app store which can give me MT
... See more
Hi,

I'm new to translation and have a few questions about term bases and translation memory. I'm learning Trados on the free trial, doing non commercial projects to practice. I want to upload a term base and translation memory file as if I were working on a real project. My (very green and beginner like) questions are:

1) Is it possible to find free ready made translation memories online? If not, can I download some apps via the Trados app store which can give me MT suggestions? (When I tried to download some, it led me to a language learning cloud login. I couldn't find a way to sign up, so couldn't download the MT app.)
2) Using Sketch, what's the best way I can create my own term base for a specific industry?
3) What formats does Trados accept term bases and terminology documents in? Is there a most commonly used format in the translation industry?

Thanks in advance,

Artemis
Collapse

Recep Kurt
Recep Kurt  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 12:31
Member (2011)
English to Turkish
+ ...
Some resources Feb 20, 2021

Hi Artemis,

1- https://ec.europa.eu/jrc/en/language-technologies/dgt-translation-memory?
What you call "apps" are plugins you use with Trados (downloading and double clicking on them will install them). Not sure if any MT plugins offer free trials or if there are free ones; you need to look around at the app store.
2- Have no idea about Sk
... See more
Hi Artemis,