Dealing with field names in user guides
Thread poster: julietiswriting
julietiswriting
julietiswriting
United Kingdom
Apr 8, 2020

Hello

I’ve had a search through the forums and I’m sorry if I’ve missed someone already asking my question.

I’m a technical writer and I’m looking to see what I need to set up to make things easier for translators! So I thought I’d come to you.

If it’s a user guide for software and so there are lots of field names in it, what do you need so that you treat the field names correctly? Should they have a style applied to them in my template? So,
... See more
Hello

I’ve had a search through the forums and I’m sorry if I’ve missed someone already asking my question.

I’m a technical writer and I’m looking to see what I need to set up to make things easier for translators! So I thought I’d come to you.

If it’s a user guide for software and so there are lots of field names in it, what do you need so that you treat the field names correctly? Should they have a style applied to them in my template? So, rather than being italic or bold, they should be “field name” or something like that?

Also, how would you like to receive the list of translated field names if this has already been done? Are there any restrictions on format? For example, Word, Excel, Notepad, mapping file (not sure what the standard format would be for that).

I believe this list would go into the term base? If I’ve got that right? And would you expect to be verifying the terms as you go through, for example, in the software itself? Or would it be automatically translated from the list?

If I was getting something translated I’d obviously ask the translator. But this is more an idea to do everything we can at the beginning so that in the future it’s all set up as much as possible to facilitate translation.

Any tips from your translation side would be really gratefully received!
Collapse

Thomas T. Frost
Thomas T. Frost  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 13:09