Thread poster: Magnus Stanke
Magnus Stanke
Magnus Stanke  Identity Verified
Spain
English to German
+ ...
Jan 21, 2020

Hello,
I've been creating and translating subs on a professional basis for some time but I'm just starting out to work on a freelance basis, and I have a few questions.
I understand that many people ask about what to charge as that is one of the first question the vendors pose, but I've read through past replies and I will interpret an answer from that to the best of my abilites.

However, I'm still unsure about this (and if I've overlooked answers to these elsewhere in t
... See more
Hello,
I've been creating and translating subs on a professional basis for some time but I'm just starting out to work on a freelance basis, and I have a few questions.
I understand that many people ask about what to charge as that is one of the first question the vendors pose, but I've read through past replies and I will interpret an answer from that to the best of my abilites.

However, I'm still unsure about this (and if I've overlooked answers to these elsewhere in the forum, I apologise):
- whatever the rate per minute is, 4€ (hopefully not) or 15€ (that's more like it, I know), does it include VAT? Say I did at 10 minute film at 10€ per minute, would the invoice read €100 + VAT? Also, here in Spain the tax is 21%, but if the vendor is in a different country, EU or elsewhere, does the local VAT apply or the rate in the country where I have to declare my income?
- Netflix tables say something about (I paraphrase) paying USD12 per minute for subs in most European languages - is that what they're paying vendors or is that what I could expect to be paid by the vendor if they work on behalf on Netflix?