Thread poster: audei
audei
audei
France
French to German
+ ...
Apr 30, 2020

Hello,
I'm a student and try to get familiar with CAT tools. I'm used to translating with DeepL and then correct or improve this version, but how can I have a similar thing inside Trados? Maybe the free trial version does not allow acces to cloud or machine translation or whatsoever?
Second, I'm confused by the narrow lines: the segments are so close together! Do people get used to this uncomfortable layout?
Thank you for your feedback.
Inga

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 14:03
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Audei Apr 30, 2020

audei wrote:
I'm used to translating with DeepL and then correct or improve this version...

In which program or on what web site have you been using DeepL so far?

How can I have a similar thing inside Trados? Maybe the free trial version [of Trados] does not allow access to cloud or machine translation...?

1. You need a "pro" account with DeepL to be able to use DeepL's functionality inside a CAT tool.
https://www.deepl.com/en/pro-tool_integration.html

2. You need to download and install this app from the Trados app store to use DeepL inside Trados:
https://appstore.sdl.com/language/app/deepl-translation-provider/847/

3. The trial version of Trados has certain limitations:
https://www.sdltrados.com/products/trados-studio/free-trial.html
*Please note, the trial does not include access to ... apps from the SDL AppStore.