https://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/330065-sdl_studio_very_slow_at_certain_batch_tasks.html

SDL Studio very slow at certain Batch-Tasks
Thread poster: Christian Schmidt
Oct 30, 2018

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Studio 2019, so I don't know what is 'normal' and what is not. I just noticed that certain tasks take forever.
Let's say I have a project file with about ~880 Segments, which contain mostly single words, or maybe 2-3 sentences. (so, pretty little text, actually).

Currently I'm trying to pre-translate the described file with my own TM (880 TU's) and the European Union TM's (which contain actually quite a lot of TU's, one had about 330.000,
... See more
Hello,

I'm fairly new to Studio 2019, so I don't know what is 'normal' and what is not. I just noticed that certain tasks take forever.
Let's say I have a project file with about ~880 Segments, which contain mostly single words, or maybe 2-3 sentences. (so, pretty little text, actually).

Currently I'm trying to pre-translate the described file with my own TM (880 TU's) and the European Union TM's (which contain actually quite a lot of TU's, one had about 330.000, but not all of them have quite that much). It currently stucks at 33% and I started the task about 40 minutes ago.

Then I wanted to create the "translation model" for one of the EU TM's, which has about 330.000 TU's. It currently sits at 15% and I also started it 40 minutes ago. (it very slowly moves onwards).

Is this something that is normal? Am I missing something? Even with a single TM with about 800 TU's (and no upLIFT Fragmentation) it takes a considerable amount of time to pre-translate.

I rather ask for experiences here, if others deal with similar issues. Not directly asking for a solution here.

Thanks.
Collapse

Ian Wood
Rwand Alagha
Mariana_Rios

Roy Oestensen
Roy Oestensen  Identity Verified
Denmark
Local time: 21:12
Member (2010)
English to Norwegian (Bokmal)
+ ...
Try to clean up your pc Oct 30, 2018