Sally Lo
Sally Lo
Indonesia
Local time: 00:12
Chinese to Indonesian
+ ...
Sep 28, 2020

Hi all.

I have an experience in translating for like 6-7 years, but I usually did that at some event/exhibition, and some of document translate.

For information, I graduated from Chinese Language & Literature in one of the university in Indonesia. And I can fluently speaks Chinese since I was a child.

I don't have experience for subtitling, editing, or even proofreading. But how do I give a rate for other since I'm just a beginner (for the skill; but upper
... See more
Hi all.

I have an experience in translating for like 6-7 years, but I usually did that at some event/exhibition, and some of document translate.

For information, I graduated from Chinese Language & Literature in one of the university in Indonesia. And I can fluently speaks Chinese since I was a child.

I don't have experience for subtitling, editing, or even proofreading. But how do I give a rate for other since I'm just a beginner (for the skill; but upper intermediate for my Chinese level)?

Thankyou.
Collapse

Tina Vonhof (X)
Tina Vonhof (X)
Canada
Local time: 11:12
Dutch to English
+ ...
Don't give rates Sep 28, 2020

Sally Lo wrote:

Hi all.

I don't have experience for subtitling, editing, or even proofreading. But how do I give a rate for other since I'm just a beginner (for the skill; but upper intermediate for my Chinese level)?

Thankyou.

I don't think you should charge for those services if you have no experience in them. For the time being, it would be best to say that you don't offer them. If there is a possibility to take a course in proofreading and/or to practice with a mentor, you could work toward offering that in the future.

P.L.F. Persio
Sheila Wilson
Arabic & More
Jean Dimitriadis

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 17:12
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
It only makes sense to charge per hour for anything related to editing Sep 28, 2020

Tina Vonhof wrote: