Karin Ervin
Karin Ervin
Estonia
Local time: 11:01
English to Estonian
+ ...
Apr 29, 2019

Hello,

Hope some experienced translators can give me their insight on if the rate I am being offered by agency is fair. I am pretty new to professional translations industry and freelancing to make some extra cash.

I got an offer to translate English->Estonian, EU related documents. Should be a continuous project as I understood. I checked the industry average which seemed to be 0,07 EUR - 0,10 EUR per word (source language). The rates I sent to the agency were 0,09 pe
... See more
Hello,

Hope some experienced translators can give me their insight on if the rate I am being offered by agency is fair. I am pretty new to professional translations industry and freelancing to make some extra cash.

I got an offer to translate English->Estonian, EU related documents. Should be a continuous project as I understood. I checked the industry average which seemed to be 0,07 EUR - 0,10 EUR per word (source language). The rates I sent to the agency were 0,09 per source word. They told its too expensive for them and offered 0,04 EUR instead which itself is below the average.

This would mean approximately 10 EUR per page. What is your opinion, is 0,04 EUR (English-Estonian) reasonable rate or they are trying to be cheap? I’d like to negotiate a bit higher payment but would be good to know if I’m on the right track. PS, the agency is based in Latvia.

Thanks in advance,
Karin

[Edited at 2019-04-29 13:24 GMT]

[Edited at 2019-04-29 13:38 GMT]
Collapse

Lincoln Hui
Lincoln Hui  Identity Verified
Hong Kong
Local time: 16:01
Chinese to English
+ ...
Don't bother Apr 29, 2019

You can negotiate a 10%, 20% difference. You can't negotiate a 100% difference.

Karin Ervin
Sheila Wilson
Angus Stewart
Nikki Scott-Despaigne
Maria da Glória Teixeira
Christine Andersen
Ann Marie Bohan

Karin Ervin
Karin Ervin
Estonia
English to Estonian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks for the advice! Apr 29, 2019