Héctor Pardo Álvarez
Héctor Pardo Álvarez
Spain
Local time: 11:20
English to Spanish
+ ...
Mar 19, 2018

Hello everybody,

I hold a degree in translation but I'm still beginning to do some jobs. Now I have the chance to do a test for an audio description project in Spanish. Although I've never worked on audio description I think I have the knowledge to undertake the project successfully, but the truth is I I don't have any idea about the rates. Could anybody tell me which rate would be considered a reasonable one per minute, including the timing, or per word, for someone like me without
... See more
Hello everybody,

I hold a degree in translation but I'm still beginning to do some jobs. Now I have the chance to do a test for an audio description project in Spanish. Although I've never worked on audio description I think I have the knowledge to undertake the project successfully, but the truth is I I don't have any idea about the rates. Could anybody tell me which rate would be considered a reasonable one per minute, including the timing, or per word, for someone like me without experience in this field?

Thank you very much
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 10:20
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
It all boils down to being paid for our time Mar 21, 2018

Héctor Pardo Álvarez wrote:
Could anybody tell me which rate would be considered a reasonable one per minute, including the timing, or per word

Let me start by saying that you usually have to be very firm with clients when quoting for this type of job. They often visualise us sitting typing at full speed in one language while listening to audio in another.