Hannah Burrow
Hannah Burrow  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 07:27
French to English
+ ...
May 3, 2018

Hello,
I have an MSc in Translating and Interpreting from 2011. Since then, I have almost exclusively been doing translation work. I now want to do more interpreting. For the degree, we only interpreted into our native language, and my question is: how realistic/desirable is it to interpret only into one's native language? I do see that for DPSI etc. you need to be able to interpret into your B language too.
Thanks for any help
Regards
Hannah

Jan Rausch
Jan Rausch  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 14:27
German to English
+ ...
Bidirectional required May 3, 2018

Hi Hannah,

On the private market, you definitely have to be able to interpret in both directions between your A and B. (Otherwise it would be a C language.)

It is only at the institutions that interpreters work into one language only.

I hope this helps.

Best,

Jan

Robert Forstag
Robert Forstag  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:27
Spanish to English
+ ...
Agree with Jan May 3, 2018

The notion of interpreting in one direction only is impractical in the real world.

Hannah: I would say that you were ill-served by your program of study and that, if you now want to offer interpreting services, you will need to develop your skills from English into your non-native language(s) in order to receive serious consideration from potential clients.

Hannah Burrow
Hannah Burrow  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 07:27
French to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks May 3, 2018

Thanks for your help, much appreciated

Vanda Nissen
Vanda Nissen  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 22:27
Member (2008)
English to Russian
+ ...
I agree with my colleagues May 3, 2018