German-English translation credentials
Thread poster: Chase Faucheux
Chase Faucheux
Chase Faucheux  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 16:14
German to English
May 9, 2019

So I live in the US and I work in the language pair DE>EN. I’ve been applying to work with more agencies lately, and normally all they require is a CV and the completion of some sort of test.

I just applied with a Swiss agency, who wants copies of my Diplome, Arbeitszeugnisse, and Referenzen.

Diplome — I have my Diploma in Translation from the Institute of Linguists (2013), and I assume this is what they want to see. Are they also asking to see my MA in lingu
... See more
So I live in the US and I work in the language pair DE>EN. I’ve been applying to work with more agencies lately, and normally all they require is a CV and the completion of some sort of test.

I just applied with a Swiss agency, who wants copies of my Diplome, Arbeitszeugnisse, and Referenzen.

Diplome — I have my Diploma in Translation from the Institute of Linguists (2013), and I assume this is what they want to see. Are they also asking to see my MA in linguistics (2006)?

Arbeitszeugnisse — I have a pretty good idea of what these are within the DACH area, but a) I’m pretty sure there’s no equivalent in the US, and b) How is a freelancer supposed to have/get these?

Referenzen — Do they just want names and contacts of people I’ve worked for? If so, do I need their permission, or do I just write down the agencies I’ve worked for and their contact info? Is there are particular format to this, or is it literally just contacts?

Thanks in advance!
Collapse

Veronika Hoffmann
Veronika Hoffmann
Germany
Local time: 22:14
English to German
Give them what you have May 10, 2019

Hi Chase,

I don't actually have experience with Swiss agencies, but assuming the process isn't different from any other job one might apply for, my advice would be: