Procuring Direct Clients
Thread poster: Michael Mathieu (X)
Michael Mathieu (X)
Michael Mathieu (X)
Japanese to English
+ ...
Sep 5, 2019

The main agency I have been translating medical texts (Japanese to English) for for the last 3 years is now under "immense pressure" from their client to cut costs. They have told me they have no choice but to cut costs by $0.02/target word by next month. I feel very let down by this, as I had a wonderful working relationship with the agency, they always paid on time, and the project managers were fantastic. Still, I have to look for new opportunities that will pay me a fair rate.

I
... See more
The main agency I have been translating medical texts (Japanese to English) for for the last 3 years is now under "immense pressure" from their client to cut costs. They have told me they have no choice but to cut costs by $0.02/target word by next month. I feel very let down by this, as I had a wonderful working relationship with the agency, they always paid on time, and the project managers were fantastic. Still, I have to look for new opportunities that will pay me a fair rate.

I am now curious about finding direct clients.
What have you done in the past to find direct clients successfully?

Any advice is appreciated.
Collapse

Ebrahim Mohammed

Dan Lucas
Dan Lucas  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:00
Member (2014)
Japanese to English
Sad to hear Sep 5, 2019

Michael_Mathieu wrote:
I feel very let down by this, as I had a wonderful working relationship with the agency, they always paid on time, and the project managers were fantastic. Still, I have to look for new opportunities that will pay me a fair rate.

That's a tough break. May I ask where this agency is headquartered?

Dan

William Tierney
William Tierney  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 12:00
Member (2002)
Arabic to English
Doesn't make sense Sep 5, 2019