Emily Gilby
Emily Gilby  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 05:54
Member (2018)
French to English
+ ...
Nov 19, 2018

Firstly, apologies if this is in the wrong group but I had no idea where to post it!

I'm currently reading a contract for an agency I applied for and was puzzled by something in the NDA. It says that in order to comply with GDPR, Google Translate can't be used during the translation process. I'm not an expert on GDPR so was wondering if anyone knew how Google Translate was non-compliant with it?

Thomas T. Frost
Thomas T. Frost  Identity Verified
Portugal
Danish to English
+ ...
Google Translate Nov 19, 2018

Content 'translated' by Google Translate is sent to Google's servers, so if you include personal data in such a request, you may be breaching the GDPR and NDAs.

Not using Google Translate for translation doesn't seem to be a big loss anyway.

Paulinho Fonseca
Peter van der Hoek
Vadim Kadyrov
Tanja Oresnik
Viviane Marx

Emily Gilby
Emily Gilby  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2018)
French to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Makes sense Nov 19, 2018

Thank you Thomas, I was just curious, this makes sense

Mirko Mainardi
Mirko Mainardi  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 06:54
English to Italian
General non-disclosure rather than GDPR, IMHO Nov 19, 2018

The GDPR basically protects personally identifiable data, so if there's no such data in the text you're machine translating, then no, I think you wouldn't be violating the GDPR by using MT, however, I also believe that using MT can still be considered a breach of most NDAs, as what passes through the MT service provider's servers (and might remain stored there) could be generally considered "Confidential Information" in and of itself...

Paulinho Fonseca
Peter van der Hoek
Ricki Farn
Anna Sarapuk

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Emily Nov 19, 2018

Emily Scott wrote: