Reporting income from clients on a U.S. tax form without a 1099
Thread poster: Mountc
Mountc
Mountc
United States
Apr 9, 2018

Perhaps a novice question here, but: I'm a translator living in the U.S., and last year, for the first time, I received work from agencies with no U.S. branch. (Yes, I know this is unusual; I previously had a very good relationship with a U.S.-based agency that soured last year, upon which I branched out.) While in previous years, I always received 1099 forms from my client companies (who were U.S. based), a couple of my new clients, when I contacted them to ask if they'd issued any tax forms ... See more
Perhaps a novice question here, but: I'm a translator living in the U.S., and last year, for the first time, I received work from agencies with no U.S. branch. (Yes, I know this is unusual; I previously had a very good relationship with a U.S.-based agency that soured last year, upon which I branched out.) While in previous years, I always received 1099 forms from my client companies (who were U.S. based), a couple of my new clients, when I contacted them to ask if they'd issued any tax forms regarding the funds paid me, stated that they flat-out did not provide tax statements or comply with requests for tax statements of any national origin for the translators they hired. (Which may well be their prerogative; I'm not an accountant.)

Am I likely to be all right if I report income received from these clients without any forms from the clients to back it up? I mean, I have my bank account statements in order, and I can prove that I received these amounts from these clients on these days, etc. (Yes, I know I'm pushing the U.S. tax deadline; personal issues have kept me away.)

Thanks for any help.
Collapse

Jessica Noyes
Jessica Noyes  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 17:06
Spanish to English
+ ...
US Tax Question Apr 9, 2018