Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
Agency T&C - would you accept this clause?
Thread poster: Nathalie Coutelle
Nathalie Coutelle
Nathalie Coutelle  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:01
Member (2008)
English to French
+ ...
Oct 17, 2016

Hi all,

I have been working happily for many years with a translation agency that is now asking all his translators to sign a Translation Service Agreement.

I do not have professional insurance.
Would you accept the following clause ?

Clause 8.2 : The Translator shall defend, hold harmless and fully indemnify XXX against any loss
(including loss of or damage to XXX property and the property of the XXX’s officers,
employees or agents), cl
... See more
Hi all,

I have been working happily for many years with a translation agency that is now asking all his translators to sign a Translation Service Agreement.

Clause 8.2 : The Translator shall defend, hold harmless and fully indemnify XXX against any loss
(including loss of or damage to XXX property and the property of the XXX’s officers,
employees or agents), claims, costs, liabilities, damages and expenses, whether direct,
indirect, economic, financial, consequential or otherwise, suffered or incurred by XXX or
any XXXX clients arising from any wilful default, negligent, wrongful or dishonest (including
fraudulent) act or omission by the Translator or any breach by the Translator of any of the
provisions of this Agreement.

Please share your thoughts

[Edited at 2016-10-18 08:22 GMT]
Collapse

Christopher Schröder
Christopher Schröder
United Kingdom
Member (2011)
Swedish to English
+ ...
Yes Oct 17, 2016

I don't think it's unreasonable. I would expect that kind of liability even if I hadn't signed an agreement setting it out.

wotswot
wotswot  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 14:01
Member (2011)
French to English
Me too Oct 17, 2016