Strategies used for translating culture-bound elements
Thread poster: Alishia
Alishia
Alishia
Polish to English
Feb 16, 2008

Hello.
I'm a student of Translation Studies and I need some information about strategies applied for translating culture-bound elements. I've read on the Internet that the best-known investigation was made by: Hatim, Nedergaard Larsen, Vinay and Darbelnet. I got to know, what are the titles of the books in which the progression of the strategies is made, but I can't reach these publications. I was looking for them in the library as well as on the Internet. If anybody could just name them w
... See more
Hello.
I'm a student of Translation Studies and I need some information about strategies applied for translating culture-bound elements. I've read on the Internet that the best-known investigation was made by: Hatim, Nedergaard Larsen, Vinay and Darbelnet. I got to know, what are the titles of the books in which the progression of the strategies is made, but I can't reach these publications. I was looking for them in the library as well as on the Internet. If anybody could just name them without explanation, because I don't want bother You too much.

Thank You in advance.
Collapse

Kim Metzger
Kim Metzger  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 10:36
German to English
Culture-bound elements Feb 16, 2008

Hi Alishia - I don't have an answer for your specific question, but this information might help you:

There have been a few studies of how cultural elements are translated, from general
translation studies, such as Hatim (1997), to studies dealing with culture in audio-visual
translation, such as Nedergaard Larsen (1993) and Orrevall (2004).
The best-known investigation of the translation of cultural elements to date is probably
Leppihalme’s studies of allus
... See more
Hi Alishia - I don't have an answer for your specific question, but this information might help you: