Right of rework/rectification according to American law
Thread poster: vkrauch
vkrauch
vkrauch
Germany
Dutch to German
+ ...
Oct 17, 2014

Hello, I need your advice on the following. I'm a freelance translator from Germany and did a big job for a translation agency settled in New York a while ago. Now they sent me a mail telling me that their client is not satisfied and they don't want to pay me. They argue that according to their general terms and conditions I am obliged to deliver good quality, but their client thinks that the quality is bad and therefore they don't have to pay. I offered the agency to correct or adapt my transla... See more
Hello, I need your advice on the following. I'm a freelance translator from Germany and did a big job for a translation agency settled in New York a while ago. Now they sent me a mail telling me that their client is not satisfied and they don't want to pay me. They argue that according to their general terms and conditions I am obliged to deliver good quality, but their client thinks that the quality is bad and therefore they don't have to pay. I offered the agency to correct or adapt my translation according to their wishes but they said the client had preferred to do it himself. My question: Is there a right to rework/rectification according to American law and where is this regulated? (I know that this is the case in Germany but I don't know much about American law). I really hope somebody can help ...Collapse

Henry Hinds
Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:35
English to Spanish
+ ...
In memoriam
Fraud Oct 17, 2014

It's surely an attempt to defraud you by not paying for your work. This is not the first time it has happened. Live and learn.

John Fossey
John Fossey  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 06:35
Member (2008)
French to English
+ ...
Due diligence? Oct 18, 2014