First year as a Resident working as a freelance translator
Thread poster: pcs_MCIL
pcs_MCIL
pcs_MCIL
English to Italian
+ ...
Jun 5, 2013

I became a US resident on March 1, 2013 and I am currently supporting myself with translations, only. I read that being self-employed I have to pay taxes every quarter, but when I tried to fill an online tax return before the first due date (April 15), all of the forms referenced to 2012 - when I wasn't a resident yet.
I am a Florida resident, so my issue concerns federal taxes, only.

Also, how do you pay taxes? Through a check, bank transfer, credit card?

Thank
... See more
I became a US resident on March 1, 2013 and I am currently supporting myself with translations, only. I read that being self-employed I have to pay taxes every quarter, but when I tried to fill an online tax return before the first due date (April 15), all of the forms referenced to 2012 - when I wasn't a resident yet.
I am a Florida resident, so my issue concerns federal taxes, only.

Also, how do you pay taxes? Through a check, bank transfer, credit card?

Thank you!
Collapse

Liviu-Lee Roth
Liviu-Lee Roth
United States
Local time: 08:10
Romanian to English
+ ...
a few ideas Jun 5, 2013

It does not matter when you became resident alien (Green card) in the US. The question is when did you start working legally in the US (based on a permit to work). If you worked in 2012, you must pay taxes.
Don't worry about the quarterly taxes. At this point in time you have no idea about your future earnings, therefore, forget about it.
You can pay taxes in any way it fits you (check, online, credit card etc.) Uncle Sam does not mind the way he gets your money....
See more
It does not matter when you became resident alien (Green card) in the US. The question is when did you start working legally in the US (based on a permit to work). If you worked in 2012, you must pay taxes.