My very first gig...setting price
Thread poster: Diana_S
Diana_S
Diana_S
Local time: 08:29
English to Spanish
Oct 27, 2011

Hi fellow prozers,
I'm a recent college grad (linguistics) and I solicited employment from a small publisher of Islamic books. Well, I offered to translate their books into Spanish (from English). Most of them are children's books to young adult. They requested a sample, loved it and is asking me to be their translator (translate all of their books). The publisher is asking how I want to be compensated and mentioned that most Muslim writer's organizations such as theirs don't have a lot o
... See more
Hi fellow prozers,
I'm a recent college grad (linguistics) and I solicited employment from a small publisher of Islamic books. Well, I offered to translate their books into Spanish (from English). Most of them are children's books to young adult. They requested a sample, loved it and is asking me to be their translator (translate all of their books). The publisher is asking how I want to be compensated and mentioned that most Muslim writer's organizations such as theirs don't have a lot of funds. I was thinking of asking for 11 cents a word but I am "wet behind the ears" as they say and don't know anything about the business, what the contract would entail, anything about being a freelancer, zip. Any opinions from the seasoned translators would help a lot!
Collapse

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Local time: 16:29
Spanish to English
+ ...
European vs US rates Oct 28, 2011

Diana_S wrote:

Hi fellow prozers,