Agency requires signing a tax form - feedback needed
Thread poster: Jenny Nilsson
Jenny Nilsson
Jenny Nilsson  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 10:37
English to Swedish
May 12, 2011

I am wondering if anyone has experience with agencies that require signing a tax form? Apparently, for a particular agency, as a translator, I must fill in a US tax form to be able to take jobs from them but I have never been asked to do this before so I am a bit wary. Is this normal? I believe the company is not American and i am not a US citizen. I have sent them the question why I must fill in this form but have not gotten a reply. Advice?

[Edited at 2011-05-12 11:06 GMT]

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 09:37
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
No, I have never been asked to (in 30 years as a freelancer) May 12, 2011

Anyway, if the company is not American and you are not an American citizen, why should you sign such a document???

Jenny Nilsson
Sweden
English to Swedish
TOPIC STARTER
Yes, strange... May 12, 2011

There were two different forms for US tax payers and non US tax payers but I as you have never encountered this before either it is a little strange.
I will try to email them again as I would like to give it a chance since I don't get many assignements and really need the work. Hope they will answer me this time...

Jean Lachaud
Jean Lachaud  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:37
English to French
+ ...
Not unless you live in the USA May 12, 2011

That is only for US tax payers, and even then not all US agencies require it.

Tell them that, because you don't have a US Social Security number, you can't sign it. Some agencies are VERY dense, and might not understand. Such agencies are best left to your competitors.

imatahan
imatahan  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 05:37
English to Portuguese
+ ...
I've been asked to May 12, 2011