Floriane D (X)
Floriane D (X)  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 15:35
English to French
+ ...
Apr 14, 2011

Hello everyone!

Here is my first post on this forum and I was hoping someone could help. I am a French freelance translator, living and working in France. I did translations for a US translation agency (I checked their website and they looked reliable) in September 2010 and sent them my first invoice which was due in December 2010 (They pay 90 days from receipt of invoice).

Of course, in December 2010, I hadn't received anything. I tried to contact them and they told me
... See more
Hello everyone!

Here is my first post on this forum and I was hoping someone could help. I am a French freelance translator, living and working in France. I did translations for a US translation agency (I checked their website and they looked reliable) in September 2010 and sent them my first invoice which was due in December 2010 (They pay 90 days from receipt of invoice).

Of course, in December 2010, I hadn't received anything. I tried to contact them and they told me they were late in the payment of invoices but that they will pay. Until today, I haven't received anything and when I contact them to have news they don't even answer. I was wondering if there was something I could do to get my money. The amount is quite important and I am determined to get it.

I am French and it's a US company. How do I proceed? I found on the Internet that I could send a formal notice but I am not sure as I am French if it will have an impact or something.

Have you already faced such an issue and what did you do?
Thanks in advance for all your answers.
Flo
Collapse

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT
Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
First step Apr 14, 2011