Susannah DALE
Susannah DALE  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 20:51
French to English
+ ...
Mar 10, 2017

Hi,

I am a self-employed translator based in Spain (I'm autónoma here). I file my taxes and charge VAT (IVA) here. Over the past few months I have started translating for a UK charity. I asked for their unique tax identification number because my accountant here in Spain said that without one (called a CIF here) she can't declare the work I have done for them. However, they don't have one because they don't pay taxes in the UK. They only have a company registration number and a cha
... See more
Hi,

I am a self-employed translator based in Spain (I'm autónoma here). I file my taxes and charge VAT (IVA) here. Over the past few months I have started translating for a UK charity. I asked for their unique tax identification number because my accountant here in Spain said that without one (called a CIF here) she can't declare the work I have done for them. However, they don't have one because they don't pay taxes in the UK. They only have a company registration number and a charity number relevant to the UK. They said they have declared my invoices so far, but I can't declare the work myself. Does anyone know anything about declaring work done for NGOs and charities? My accountant doesn't understand how they operate without a tax ID number.

Any advice appreciated.

Many thanks.

S.
Collapse

Nikki Scott-Despaigne
Nikki Scott-Despaigne  Identity Verified
French to English
Cross-border VAT numbers, the VIES system Mar 10, 2017

Many structures don't actually realize that they do in fact have a European VAT registration number. I have what is known as the "autoentrepreneur" status here in France and I do not and cannot earn enough to charge VAT. However, a while back, I needed to supply my EU VAT reg n°. I contacted the tax authorities here and obtained the number. It is based on my busienss reg n°.