Pages in topic:   [1 2 3 4 5] >
Is it normal to wait 60 days for payment to be processed?
Thread poster: Jennifer Norman
Jennifer Norman
Jennifer Norman
Canada
Local time: 10:46
French to English
+ ...
Nov 15, 2016

I bid for a job on ProZ and received a positive response which seems legitimate.

However, their terms and conditions state that payment will be processed between 45 and 60 days after job completion.

My question is: is this normal? I have never had to wait two months for payment. Then again, I am relatively new to freelancing.

[Edited at 2016-11-16 00:11 GMT]

Tony M
Tony M
France
Local time: 16:46
French to English
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
Normal, but to be deprecated Nov 15, 2016

Yes, I'm afraid it is normal — and I wish it wasn't!

It is particularly common with US agencies, as it seems to be accepted business practice over there. Here in Europe, there is greater pressure to respect the more traditional 30-day settlement terms.

Personally, I refuse to accept 60 days — or the sneaky ones that say 30 days, but from a fixed date like "end of month following date of invoice"; so if you are unlucky enough to invoice a job on
... See more

It is particularly common with US agencies, as it seems to be accepted business practice over there. Here in Europe, there is greater pressure to respect the more traditional 30-day settlement terms.

Personally, I refuse to accept 60 days — or the sneaky ones that say 30 days, but from a fixed date like "end of month following date of invoice"; so if you are unlucky enough to invoice a job on 2nd of the month, you are still going to end up waiting nearly 60 days to get paid!