NORWAY: Autonumbering invoices -- how to do it without a tax advisor or private accountant?
Thread poster: Alexander_T
Alexander_T
Alexander_T
Local time: 22:33
English to German
+ ...
Oct 3, 2016

Hi folks,

I am thinking about relocating to Norway as my country of residence. I am a frelance translator, and up to now I was living in Germany, my mother country. In Germany I was able to just create my invoices in Word and number them as I pleased, e.g. a radnom numer for each invoice or a combination of number and invoice date.

Now I read that in Norway you need to issue autonumbered invoices, as the tax authorities require it. How is that supposed to work?
... See more
Hi folks,

I am thinking about relocating to Norway as my country of residence. I am a frelance translator, and up to now I was living in Germany, my mother country. In Germany I was able to just create my invoices in Word and number them as I pleased, e.g. a radnom numer for each invoice or a combination of number and invoice date.

Now I read that in Norway you need to issue autonumbered invoices, as the tax authorities require it. How is that supposed to work?

And will my clients actually get those autonumbered invoices into their hands, or can I continue writing my old-style personal invoices to my clients and only ever use the autonumbered "invoices" for the tax declaration, i.e. the tax office?

Can you give me the name of such an autonumbering program?

I know this is somehow supposed to combat tax fraud, but I really dont see how it would. If I wanted to commit tax fraud I would simply send my clients any invoices made with Word, and then chose which of them to report to the authorities in their autonumbered scheme. Just saying -- i do not intend to commit any tax fraud, but I am bothered by this rule and cannot afford a tax advisor.

Best regards,
Alexander.
Collapse

Nadezda Emeliyanova
Nadezda Emeliyanova  Identity Verified
Malaysia
Local time: 04:33
English to Malay
+ ...