Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
Using your own name as company name, or a more commercial name?
Thread poster: Nele Van den Broeck
Nele Van den Broeck
Nele Van den Broeck  Identity Verified
Belgium
Local time: 12:41
French to Dutch
+ ...
Jun 5, 2015

Dear all,

I'm just starting out as a professional translator (I would like to really start next month in fact), and am still looking for a name for my business in order to be able to get some business cards.

I was just wondering what's the usual thing to do.
Have you used your own name as a company name, or did you go for a more commercial name without your name in it?

At the moment, I'm considering the latter, unless it would be very odd to do so..
... See more
Dear all,

I'm just starting out as a professional translator (I would like to really start next month in fact), and am still looking for a name for my business in order to be able to get some business cards.

I was just wondering what's the usual thing to do.
Have you used your own name as a company name, or did you go for a more commercial name without your name in it?

At the moment, I'm considering the latter, unless it would be very odd to do so...

I have several reason why I don't really want to use my own name:
The first and weakest reason: I think that's the "easy" option (although I do recognise it does give you a more trustworthy image).
Second reason: My last name, Van den Broeck, is one of the most common last names in Belgium (written in a couple of different spellings, but still, pronounced exactly the same way), and therefore doesn't provide me with a "special" name that would be remarkable. There are already a lot of Belgian companies with "Van den Broeck" as a part of their name, mostly in the construction sector it seems.
Third reason: Nele Van den Broeck is also, a Belgian actress/singer, who's getting more and more known, and it isn't me.
People who would be looking for me on the internet, would probably find her instead of me.