Encoding problem when uploading files to the site
Thread poster: H Habraliova
Feb 25, 2016

Hello, everyone!

I’ve encountered a problem with encoding.
I am a localization/content manager on the side of the customer.
We have ordered translation of our site into several languages – namely Spanish, Portuguese and German.
When I received the translated files there were a lot of symbols like ñ ó etc. in the source code of the target files. If I open these files in Trados – the html characters were not visible. Only the actual umlauts etc
... See more
Hello, everyone!

I’ve encountered a problem with encoding.
I am a localization/content manager on the side of the customer.
We have ordered translation of our site into several languages – namely Spanish, Portuguese and German.
When I received the translated files there were a lot of symbols like ñ ó etc. in the source code of the target files. If I open these files in Trados – the html characters were not visible. Only the actual umlauts etc. The encoding seemes to be UTF-8.
So, we uploaded the files to the site. The HTML characters showed up on the site, which really looks bad. At the same time we’ve ordered Thai, Chinese and Arabic translations (same source files were sent to all translators). And in these languages there are even more exotic characters and they are displayed in source code and on the site perfectly well.
Here is the question: does the problem lie in the files? Faulty source files? Or faulty translated files? Should I ask the translators to correct them? What exactly should be corrected? Or our site does not work properly?
I am using Trados 2015, our translators – different versions of Trados, not sure which exaclty. I can find out if it’s important.
We’ve already worked with these translators before and translated html and resx files and uploaded them to the site without this problem.
I hope someone can steer me in the right direction.
I’d be glad to answer any additional questions.
Collapse