Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Why is a landline telephone needed for telephone interpreting?
Thread poster: jyuan_us
jyuan_us
jyuan_us  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:23
Member (2005)
English to Chinese
+ ...
Dec 7, 2016

I noticed that virtual all telephone interpreting jobs require the interpreter to have a landline telephone. I was wondering why it is not OK to do interpretation jobs via a cell phone.

Do you have any idea why they all require a landline telephone?

Agnes Lenkey
Agnes Lenkey  Identity Verified
German to Spanish
+ ...
Quality issue Dec 8, 2016

Hi,

I am sure it is due to quality concerns (quality is higher in case of using a landline). But in our mobile world this is an "outdated" (though seemingly necessary) prerequisite.

Anyhow, I also work as a telephone interpreter and even if they state "landline highly preferred (+ headset)", they accept mobile connection (-headset), too. For sure it depends on the company you work for and also on the quality of one’s mobile connection/ability to use it and organise o
... See more
Hi,

I am sure it is due to quality concerns (quality is higher in case of using a landline). But in our mobile world this is an "outdated" (though seemingly necessary) prerequisite.

Anyhow, I also work as a telephone interpreter and even if they state "landline highly preferred (+ headset)", they accept mobile connection (-headset), too. For sure it depends on the company you work for and also on the quality of one’s mobile connection/ability to use it and organise oneself.

Best regards,

Agnes
Collapse

Mario Chavez (X)
Mario Chavez (X)  Identity Verified
English to Spanish
+ ...
Landline phone as proof Dec 8, 2016

Interesting discussion. We might think this requirement is outdated or obsolete in light of the abundance and efficiency of high-quality mobile phone communications.